What is Bipolar Depression?

Similar to unipolar depression, bipolar depression can be characterized as

  • Feelings of hopelessness, pessimism
  • Feelings of guilt, worthlessness, helplessness
  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Loss of interest or pleasure in hobbies and activities that were once enjoyed
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Overeating or loss of appetite
  • Persistent aches or pains, headaches, cramps or digestive problems that do not ease even with treatment
  • Thoughts of suicide, suicide attempts

However, bipolar depression can also include things such as,

  • More suicide attempts than with major depressive disorder
  • A profound loss of energy
  • Severe depression more likely to include psychotic symptoms
  • Onset of depression occurs at a younger age
  • More likely to have a co-occurring mental illness, such as obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, or substance abuse
  • More likely to have a family history of mania
  • More episodes of depression than with unipolar depression
  • Use of antidepressant—without mood-stabilizer—may cause hypomania or mania.

bphope.com

Stability,Mania and Depression

When a person suffers from bipolar depression they may change moods infrequently or often. This can be a shift every few months to a shift from moment to moment. According to a contributor at the Mighty named Mimsy Tallent, her stability looked like this,

I felt positive and good about myself without the grandiose thoughts I’ve had so frequently before. I could go shopping without thinking I needed everything I saw and spending hundreds or thousands of dollars at a time. My thoughts weren’t racing too much that I felt like my head was going to explode, and I could easily fall asleep without watching a rerun on television to distract me. In fact, I was sleeping a full eight hours without waking up, and I could easily wake up without being groggy or cranky. (Mimsy Tallent).

Stability looks different for everyone, my stability looks like happiness and activeness. When I feel stable, I feel as if I am a better mother, wife and employee. At the same time, I consider my stable self to be quite boring. I am quiet, I remain introverted and people do not recognize me. However my quietness is deceiving because in my quiet body, my mind is screaming. Racing thoughts plague my brain like a tattoo is to skin. My stability is strange and I do not often experience it.

Mania, I wont go into my own personal experience with hypomania because that is for another blog post but, mania in my own words is your own personal feelings of being a super hero. HYPOmania is when, ,much like a manic phase, you feel a sense of euphoria, a burst in energy and a surge of productivity. Hypomania is a milder form of what is described as Mania.

 

Helpguide.org gives examples of signs and symptoms of mania.

  • Feeling unusually “high” and optimistic OR extremely irritable
  • Unrealistic, grandiose beliefs about one’s abilities or powers
  • Sleeping very little, but feeling extremely energetic
  • Talking so rapidly that others can’t keep up
  • Racing thoughts; jumping quickly from one idea to the next
  • Highly distractible, unable to concentrate
  • Impaired judgment and impulsiveness
  • Acting recklessly without thinking about the consequences
  • Delusions and hallucinations (in severe cases)

PLEASE SHARE YOUR STORIES, EXPERIENCES AND DEFINITIONS IN YOUR OWN WORDS. I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU.

2 thoughts on “What is Bipolar Depression?

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kitt O’Malley

Bipolar Writer and Mental Health Advocate

Shedding Light on Mental Health

Inspire hope. Change minds.

Shannon Diana

Lifestyle & Mental Health Blog

THE COLOUR OF MADNESS

A Blog About Living with Mental Illness

Living Brave With Bipolar Disorder

Not Defined By Diagnosis

A Mind Divided

Artful, Conscious Living with Bipolar Disorder

BiPolar Wife

Living life with BiPolar Disorder!

Unapologetically Me

A Twenty-Something-Year-Old Actively Reclaiming Her Life

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started